Paul Butterfield

I figure I might as well get the ball rolling… I’m new to Harmonica & I’ve just discovered Paul Butterfield - anyone got any Butterfirld recommendations?

1 Like

Try “The Butterfield Bluesband LIVE”, at the Troubadour in LA. Most famous title is probably “Everything gonna be alright”, played on a harp in C key.

4 Likes

Paul Butterfield is for shure one of my biggest influences…like Swieland says his album Live is really one of the best…he had a style of his own and introduced many people to this instrument,as he played in famous festivals as Woodstock…at the beggining he was playing Chicago blues standards but when he formed the band Better Days he started exploring soul,funk,and other colours of american music,and for me there is when he was at his best,also a great singer!!!i could be talking days about him,butthe best is that your hear his music!!!

2 Likes

Thanks for your responses guys - great suggestions! I’ve been learning harmonica for 8 months and have tried to soak up as much blues as possible so cannot understand how I missed Butterfield until 2 days ago??? I can’t stop listening to him - his voice is great and the way he plays is unlike anything else I’ve heard - amazing.

great that you like him!!!besides his albums you can hear him in the legendary Fathers & Sons with MuddyWaters and many other top bluesman

2 Likes

Butter in my opinion was very accomplished at mostly sticking to the blues scale. Joe Filisko

Hi guys!

I´m a big fan of Butterfield and guess what I see the moment I register to this community?
Did you know that there´s a documentary released in 2017 called “Horn From The Heart: The Paul Butterfield Story”???

We have the honour in the Swedish “HarpMeet” event (11th of November) to screen this film for the first time outside US!

Check out this!
Horn From The Heart

//Markus Korhonen
Founder HarpMeet

4 Likes