My first chromatic harmonica 280 C 64

By education and 16 years of training, I was a classical musician on piano and clarinet. Then life intervened, and decades went by when I didn’t play any instrument. Last year I had a yearning to play music again, but I wanted something small and easy to cart around. Hence – harmonica. It took 8+ months to find the right thing, but 2 weeks ago I bought a 280 C, so now I’m able to apply what I learned from piano to this instrument. I’m learning to blow it, reaching for a rounded sound, and where the holes are. I bought Max De Aloe’s Method for Chromatic Harmonica and Love of Chromatic Harmonica by Kettlewell and Cohen. In this little Montana town, the music store doesn’t sell chromatics and there are no instructors for either the diatonic or chromatic harmonica. I’m struggling, but determined to once again make good music. Not just classical, but other types, too.
Question: What are wind savers for? And what are they, anyway?
Thank you!

3 Likes

Hi @Car0lBMT,

Congratulations on your purchase, the 280 is a very good choice for someone in your situation!
Wind savers are there to guide the air flow directly to the desired reed. Less air is needed to produce a full sound. One can also play without them, but given the same air pressure, the sound would be flatter.

1 Like

Hi, Ines,
Thank you! I’ve been eyeing the Super 64, but I want to do as much as I can with the 280. Already I’ve had my doubts about the sound, but I can’t yet tell how much to attribute to my own ineptitude (so far), or other factors. When I’ve gone as far as I can with the 280 and want a better sound I’ll make sure that I’ve gone beyond what the 280 can do. That may take years! :slight_smile:
Perhaps you have a recommendation for which instrument to consider next.

2 Likes

You’re welcome @Car0lBMT!